Keith, G6NHU: Days 55, 56 and 57 – Data!

Posted on February 27, 2011 by

0



Over these three days I had 21 QSOs and only used the microphone once!  The one time I used it I called a contest station who only wanted to work French stations so I tuned away.

On the afternoon of day #55 I had a delivery from Slovakia.  This parcel contained a microHAM USB Interface III which I’d ordered a couple of weeks ago with the proceeds of a pile of ‘junk’ I’d sold on eBay.

Many years ago I used to operate a lot of data modes.  I was a very early adopter of Packet Radio, experimenting with Cambridge Packet on the BBC Micro a long while before AX25 appeared and I used various ASCII methods of transmission using home-written software.  I’d done nothing with data recently though and was looking forward to trying PSK31 and other modes.

To read this huge post in full, click here.

Tagged:
Posted in: Keith G6NHU