Ciaran Watkins – No Sleep ‘Til Brooklyn

Posted on March 6, 2011 by

0



This is my Saturday night. Tr00 geek.

Last night I went to what can only be described as a small LAN party. Me and a few friends hooked up our PCs and played some video games while we were all in the same room. We drank beers, we ate snacks, we smoked, and we laughed heartily on into the night. And boy do I mean heartily. I ended up hitting the sack at about half five in the morning, and my ‘sack’ was a tiny leather couch with a sleeping bag to hide under. The couch was a little small, and I really couldn’t get comfortable, but I managed to get a few hours sleep until about eight in the morning when Ben’s little brother came into the ‘game’ room to play some Minecraft.

Today, I’ve been running on about three/four hours sleep. It’s almost eleven, and I’m starting to feel awfully tired. When I was younger I used to stay up until three every morning, wake up for school at seven, and I’d be able to do that the next night as well. Why can’t I do that now? Age more the likely, but I have to say I definitely enjoyed the whole experience. It’s not every night that I get the chance to throw caution to the wind and go to sleep when I’m on the verge of passing out, rather than when I’m a bit tired, or it’s twelve and I know I’ve got to be up in seven hours. Staying up late is cool. It’s super cool! Watching the sun rise is something everyone should do at least once. Staying up late with other people is even cooler. I don’t think it was the computers that made me stay up late, more the fact I was with friends, and having a brilliant time.

You should stay up late one night. I don’t mean go out on the piss, and then get back late, I mean stay up with some pals, watch movies, eat pizza, play video games, and pretend like you’re in your teenage years again. It does wonders.

Read more over at Whatever’s In There, Falls Out Here.

Posted in: Ciaran Watkins