Fibonacci 63. Cigarettes

Posted on March 10, 2011 by

0



Fibonacci 63. Cigarettes

The image above, which is the sort used on cigarette packaging in parts of the world other than the United States, came from the blog of adelgabot, to whom I am grateful.  Images change people; an impetus for me to quit smoking was seeing a mock-up of a healthy lung and a smoker’s lung in a doctor’s office.  My family’s giving it a rest; and all of us have had our bad, bad, bad days in doing so. Most of us (including me) have used one drug or another or one mechanical system or another.  In the end, what it came down to for me was that I didn’t care if I had to sacrifice the friendship of everyone I knew and loved; quitting smoking was more important than people.  (This was before the warnings that if you experience hostility while taking Chantix you should contact your doctor.  The hostility lasted for nine months after I stopped taking the drug.  A little more pharmaceutical aid would have been good.)

Anyhow:  my family is quitting, one by one, and here’s the Fibonacci to prove it.

Cigarettes

1    Five
1    people
2    I know
3    and dearly love
5    have quit smoking in recent
8    months:  my daughter (December 17); my daughter’s fella
13  (February); my fella (November and March), my late sister’s daughter-in-law (five months ago)
21  and her sons (March 8). Then there’s me.  My last puff was in October, 2007.  My last hankering?  Three hours ago.
34   Habits die hard, and they die long. What matters, though, is that they do die, do die, do die, as Johnny Cash sang so wonderfully; and the faster they die the longer we live.
by Mary Cartledgehayes

