Gemma Critchley: Head in a book

Posted on March 13, 2011 by

0



Sometimes, I get my hands on a book that I simply can’t put down. I know people say that a lot, but I really mean it. It becomes an obsession, a drug, a compulsion that I have to cave in to. Real life goes on hold and I’m confined to my bed, or a chair, or the park and I must read, consume, devour the book until it’s done. It’s been a while since I’ve found a book like that. Notable mentions of past reads that did this to me are:

Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh
The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
Vernon God Little by D.B.C. Pierre
Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

Anyway, a very lovely lady at work gave me a copy of One Day by David Nicholls on Friday.

David Nicholls one day book review

I started reading it this morning and I’m already over half way through. It’s very much one of those ‘everyman’/me too books and is easy to identify with, but that doesn’t mean it’s a bad thing. The characters are so well drawn and the story so plausible and so real that I can’t help but get sucked in. Also, I hadn’t realised that David Nicholls is also the author of Starter For Ten, a brilliant, brilliant book about University Challenge. There’s something very Adrian Mole about Nicholls’ writing, something really humanistic and almost a bit cringey, but it’s warm, very witty, well-observed and compelling.

Which is why I’m drawing this post to a close here and getting back to it.

Highly recommended read. Have you read it? What did you think? No spoilers, please!

Tagged:
Posted in: Gemma Critchley