Mark Fraser: Day Seventy Six – The Last Fantasy

Posted on March 17, 2011 by

0



Or not.

I don’t talk about video games often, but I have to explain why I have nothing creative for tonight (and I’m sure no one will noticed given how dramatically my page views have fallen this week).

Today, I have mainly been playing Final Fantasy XIII. First time I’ve played one since Final Fantasy X and I have to say, it’s not grabbing me as much as VII, VIII, XI or X did. But I remember a whole lot of story and linear, plot driven gameplay for the first 15 hours or so if Final Fantasy VII, and while I realise this game probably won’t be as good as that, I’m prepared to bear with it.

It lead to a minor discussion with my flatmate and I as we both came to the conclusion that more “Western” style RPGs like Fallout 3 etc are more enjoyable to us these days. Long gone are the halcyon days of playing Final Fantasy all night before going to bed for school the next day. Perhaps it’s because these “Western” RPG’s have stats that seem to make a whole lot more practical sense? J-RPG’s, now, appear to be a lot more convoluted.

I probably picked a bad time to get it, though. I can’t really be going on a 3 disc adventure when I should be studying for exams.

Whoops.

I’d like to add that the main character, ‘Lightning’, is a total moody cow. What’s with Final Fantasy lead characters and unresolved angst? Also, what’s up with the androgynous nature of most of the characters? I’d say I worry about the Japanese sometimes but that might be a little flippant given the current situation where my social conscience genuinely worries about the Japanese right now, for completely unrelated and much bigger reasons.

Posted in: Mark Fraser