Gemma Critchley: Frankenstein’s Wedding and event-led TV

Posted on March 21, 2011 by

0



So, this weekend I managed to catch some of Frankenstein’s wedding, being filmed just a few miles from our house. It was pretty impressive to see the good folk of Leeds turn out in their droves to a spooky, moonlit Kirkstall Abbey to witness a bloody tale of murder and heartbreak.

More than anything, though, I really liked the idea of embracing event-led TV. With Sky+ and other on demand services like iPlayer, there is no longer a need to be in a certain place at a certain time to watch something on TV. I don’t know if it’s just me, but it always feels better either watching something live on TV or watching it just being shown on TV than it does watching it on a DVD or watching a recording. For example, when a film is on telly, there’s something a bit magical in knowing that other people are watching along with you. The advent of Twitter has really bolstered this belief and now I actively look forward to watching certain things like X Factor, Wonders of the Solar System and The Brits knowing that other people are watching along with me and that it’s even possible to converse with the people who are either in or who have made these shows as they happen.

I think a lot of shows are going to need to go down this route if viewing figures are ever going to mean anything. I don’t mind, though. I think it makes TV a bit more exciting.

Tagged:
Posted in: Gemma Critchley