Keith, G6NHU: Intermediate exam, the community is split. What do you think?

Posted on April 3, 2011 by

0



I was in the local radio shop yesterday and had a flick through the Intermediate licence training book and one of the sample exam questions jumped out at me.

The question was:

When referring to soldering, the term ‘dry joint’ means:

(a) A form of soldering using dry paste
(b) A good solder joint
(c) A joint that does not conduct current
(d) A poor joint that is likely to fail

Clearly (a) and (b) are both wrong but I couldn’t decide which answer I thought was right. I showed the proprietor of the shop and he couldn’t decide either. We agreed that it’s quite an ambiguous question as both answers could be considered right.

I posted the question on Twitter and I’ve had quite a large response but the replies are split equally between (c) and (d).

So what do you think, is it (c) or (d)?  Mosey over here and post what you think.

Posted in: Keith G6NHU