F is for Faye: 113. The Yorkshire Sculpture Park

Posted on April 23, 2011 by

0



This morning, whilst on the way to the Yorkshire Sculpture Park, I was trying to remember the last time I was there. I think it was in 1996 on a Girl Guide Olympic themed camp, with ridge pole tents, bedding rolls and campfires.

It was definitely the day for an adventure there – it was lovely and sunny when my parents came to pick us up at 10.30am. There was a thin layer of smog across Leeds as we drove on the M1, but when we arrived it was nice to be out in the fresh air.

If you’ve not been to the YSP before, it’s 18 acres of countryside dotted with massive sculptures. I used to go regularly as a child and there are probably lots of photos of me and my sister posing next to or on the sculptures. They have regularly exhibitions, the current one is by Jaume Plensa.

It’s big faces and bodies, made out of letters and wire. They’re pretty imposing, if a little disconcerting.

By the time we’d walked from one side of the park to the other, and back again, the sun had disappeared and had been replaced with dark cloud and the rumble of thunder. After the obligatory trip to the gift shop, we were going to have some lunch at the YSP cafe, but after reconsidering we decided to have a much tastier lunch at San Carlos restaurant in Leeds.

It was a lovely day out. I’ve just finished watching Dr Who and now I’m going to slather some moisturiser over my slightly pinkish shoulders!

Posted in: F is for Faye