Gemma Critchley: Curiouser and curiouser…

Posted on April 27, 2011 by

0



Today I thought I’d share with you the events of 5 years ago, almost to the day. I’m not sure if anyone else remembers this happening or if it even broke the surface of news for most people (Ian, Kat and Ash might remember), but I was obsessed by it for ages. I don’t even remember the real outcome of all of this, I just remember I used to have four days a week off to investigate stuff like this and go around Leeds, sleuthing.

Anyway, here’s my full account of it, taken from one of my old blogs from 14th April 2006…

I swear, you couldn’t make it up. Events of the last few days have been as follows:

“A man has been arrested in connection with the discovery of a 300-year-old ledger, bound in human skin, found on the Headrow. The book, written mainly in French is thought to be an account of a murder trial, bound in the killer’s skin”

book bound in human skin found on the headrow in leeds 2006

“Police in Leeds are hunting three men who carried out an armed robbery at a jewellers on a city centre street packed with weekend shoppers. West Yorkshire Police said the men ran along Albion Street and turned into an alleyway before heading towards the Headrow.”

divers dragging the river aire in Leeds CCTV the calls leeds men wheelchair river aire

“A man vanished in the early hours of Sunday morning. Detectives said they believed Mr Turns would have passed four people as he ran from Call Lane towards the river. Police divers have completed an underwater search of the River Aire and began a surface search on Wednesday”

The Map

map of call lane leeds crime scene

So yes, I may have too much time on my hands, or just spending thirteen hours reading local news whilst at work is getting to me a bit. Overactive imagination? Moi? This is amazing. What makes it better is that I actually walked past all of this stuff happening in town. Is it just me who thinks it’s brilliant that the most trashy mystery hollywood-esque plot seems to have descended upon Leeds as it’s unlikely backdrop? I’m turning this into my personal sleuthing mission.

You can keep your stupid clichéd metaphors, Dan Brown – I’ve got The Yorkshire Code.

It’s like the Davinci Code, but less rubbish.

Posted in: Gemma Critchley