Ciaran Watkins – You Can’t Judge A Campaign By It’s Ten Second TV Spot

Posted on May 11, 2011 by

0



Why oh why do companies insist on changing their advertising style completely. Or to rephrase that, why do companies insist on creating rubbish T.V ads;

Naff. Unoriginal. Rubbish.

But wait! What’s this? There’s a thirty second version I seem to have overlooked? Let’s watch and be disgusted together.


Hang on a second, that one was rather good wasn’t it. It sort of gives the entire campaign a whole new meaning. I’m beginning to think that the ten second clips aren’t supposed to be seen on their own (I blame you TheDrum). On their own they look cheap, tacky, and very ‘foxy bingo’-esque, but as a follow up to the 30 second spot, they create a nice little book end to an advert break, and they become part of the ‘bigger picture’. Originally all I heard was a kitsch song being reworked to contain the name of the brand, but after a quick youtube watch, I find a fantastic campaign filled with witticism and humour. Most of these videos seem to be internet only though, and I can’t work out if that’s brilliant, or a little silly. What happens to the people who don’t seek out the extra adverts? I suppose it’s their loss, as the entire campaign is pretty darn good!

What I like most about this campaign, is that there are a few fake ‘behind-the-scenes’ clips posted on thetrainline’s youtube account. They look like real behind the scenes footage involving the two advertising executives featured in the campaign, but they’re all shot in a ‘mockumentary’ style to take poke fun at the advertising world, just like the fact that the thirty second ad is another one in a long list of adverts that poke fun at the advertising industry. I’ve looked at ads like this before, and here you’ll find an entry on the one I can remember writing about.

This method of teasing the advertising world while still being a part of it seems to be a new, novel way of engaging with potential customers. In poking fun at the idea of advertising, and advertising executives, it’s as if the company involved are letting the consumer in on the ‘joke’, which means they don’t feel like they’re being forcefully sold something. All companies have to advertise, but if they manage to do it in such a way that it makes the consumer feel clever, and included, then it becomes a lot easier for a consumer to let this product into their lives. It also really helps when the writing is top notch. The ‘flirting’ footage above is flawlessly written, and the copy writer/script writer should be proud of themselves.

This campaign, which I first thought I was going to despise, has actually gone on to be quite enjoyable. The problem lies in the fact that I’ve been conditioned to research these things. How many members of the public are going to see the ten second tasters and nothing else? I imagine quite a few, and they’ll end up thinking the same thing as I did when I first saw them. Obviously it all depends on how the planning and buying has been organised, and I can only hope it’s a success. One thing upsets me though, and that is the fact that I’ll never get to see the following ad.

It’s funny. It’s funny because the sheep thinks he’s people.

Read more over at Whatever’s In There, Falls Out Here.

Posted in: Ciaran Watkins