Unbekanntes Jubiläum (bilingual Nº 145 #oneaday)

Posted on May 25, 2011 by

1



An unknown anniversary:
 
First blind man on top of the Mount Everest
Der erste Blinde auf dem Mount Everest

Every day I receive some informations about events in the past at exactly this day (or for tomorrow). If you too want such information, look at i.e. Wikipedia’s list of historical anniversaries.

Täglich werde ich über einige Ereignisse informiert, die sich an genau diesem (oder dem folgenden) Tag zutrugen. Wer solche Information auch haben möchte, kann ja z. B. in die Wikipedia-Liste der Historischen Jahrestage sehen.

10 years ago – vor 10 Jahren

Erik Weihenmayer on his way
Erik in front of South Face of Everest. Photo by deetrak – Didrick Johnck. cc by-nc-sa 2.0 at flickr

Erik Weihenmayer became the first and only blind person in history (until now) who reached the summit Mount Everest on May 25, 2001. A blind man? Yes. (But of course he was not alone during climbing.)

Erik Weihenmayer ist seit dem 25. Mai 2001 der erste und bisher einzige blinde Mensch, der den Gipfel des Mount Everest erreichte. Ein Blinder? Ja. (Natürlich war er beim Klettern nicht alleine.)

Well done, Mister Weihenmayer. I bow to him and to his achievement. I’m unable to climb because of my fear of height. And I’m not half a sportsman like he is. And – especially as a person with a disability – he did a very hard work with his climbing tours.

Gut gemacht, Herr Weihenmayer. Ich verneige mich vor ihm und seiner Leistung. Wegen meiner Höhenangst könnte ich ja nie einen Berg besteigen. Aber er, als Behinderter, er hat da große Strapazen auf sich genommen und gemeistert.

My thoughts in the moment as I received this anniversary information: We all are people with a disability, aren’t we? And this blind climber shows to me that it is possible to get what I want to get. If I’m able to do anything necessary for this goal.

Als ich den Hinweis auf diesen Jahrestag erhielt, dachte ich: Sind wir nich alle irgendwo eingeschränkt? Und dieser blinde Bergsteiger verdeutlichte mir, daß ich alles erreichen kann, was ich will, wenn ich alles dafür Notwendige tue.

Okay. So yesterday I checked my goals for the past two years. They weren’t unreachable even if they seemed to be unreachable. But I forgot to do something essential: to believe in myself …

So habe ich dann gestern über meine Ziele der letzten zwei Jahre nachgedacht. Sie wären nicht so unerreichbar gewesen, wie sie schienen. Ich hatte nur etwas Wichtiges vergessen: An mich zu glauben …

So if I can’t see the good things in my future life I will try to remember Erik Weihenmayer. A person who’s living his life in the manner he prefers to live. In spite of all adversities (I believe). And I will remember in believing myself.

Wenn ich in Zukunft mal wieder das Gute nicht sehe, dann werde ich versuchen, mich an Erik Weihenmayer zu erinnern. Einen Menschen, der sein Leben so lebt, wie er es leben will. Ungeachtet aller Schwierigkeiten (glaube ich). Und ich werde mich daran erinnern, daß ich an mich selbst glaube.

Der Verfasser des Blogs schleicht davon und dankt für’s Lesen.

© 2011 – Der Emil CC by-nc-nd der_emil(at)arcor(dot)de

145 / 365 – One post a day (WP-count: 537 words)
posted both in the oneaday project and my blog.

