Cocktail Friday 23 – Mojito

Posted on June 17, 2011 by

0



Oh yeah! Friday again! How time flies when your at work! Or something. Anyway I’m now in the middle of a 9 day stretch at work and therefore require alcohol to calm my nerves after a hard days interacting with the public.

As you can see from the title I’ve upped my game a little and gone for something a little more fancy and possibly better know with the Mojito! Not much I can really say about this drink as it’s already so well known! The combination of flavours (Mint, Lime, Rum) with the added sweetness of sugar is a sure fire hit!

However there is one ingredient I’m not totally keen on in this mixture and that is the soda water. Or at least so I thought until I tried it today and decided it’s not that bad after all….oh well! I didn’t know any better at the time so I made 2 versions with the other using lemonade!

So ingredients:

  • Mint leaves (6 – 12)
  • 2 wedges of lime
  • 1/2 measure of sugar syrup
  • 2 measures of rum
  • soda water/lemonade

Pretty simple eh? Of course the above list is only half the battle – these things must be handled in the correct order of course!

Mint leaves, lime wedges and the sugar syrup go into a glass and then you muddle them around to break the leaves/lime open and release their yummy flavours. Next up you add crushed ice (I didn’t, forgot) to fill the glass and add the 2 measures of rum over the ice.

Finally add your chosen mixer to fill the glass to the top! Whack in a straw and serve. A tasty and refreshing cocktail that might even be able to pass for 1 of your 5 a day……maybe. Oh well I tried.

Right on to the pictures:

Posted in: Simon Paulton