Ciaran Watkins – The Biggest And Best Tits In The World… Sorry, I Meant Bits

Posted on June 24, 2011 by

0



Why is it, that when someone takes the piss out of advertising creatives, or decides that ‘anyone can work in advertising’, they always come up with the idea that every advertising campaign begins with the creatives pitching a load of half naked, large breasted, attractive ladies selling a product that has no correlation or need for that type of imagery? I know Friends has done it before, “And then they all get out of the hot tub”, and a few of my actual friends seemed to think that’s how advertising actually worked! Well, whenever I was presented with that idea, I always took the time to really explain to the person in question just how wrong they were.

The birth of an idea is important, and especially when confined to the layers of a multifaceted brief. The process of taking an idea from the tiniest of beginnings, all the way to the final outcome is a literal roller coaster of joy, pure hatred, and absolute motivation. I’ve been reduced to tears, and fits of seething rage (note, I may be over exaggerating here) just because an idea doesn’t fit as well as I think it could, that it told the wrong message, or that it just didn’t do enough in my mind. I try to think creatively throughout the entire process, and I push myself to come up with something original, something humorous, and something new.

I do all of this because I regard my want-away profession as something that’s important to me. I’d defend it against most things in the same way I defend video-gaming as being more than a ‘useless past time’ or ‘dangerous for the kids’. It’s the crass, unimaginative advertising, that all creatives have to battle against, to prove to people that we do more than just selling a product.

Knocking this creative opinion back a few years, is the new Club Orange advert by Irish advertising agency Chemistry.

Well, wasn’t that just, uninspired. I’m going to find it hard to find anything note worthy, but I’ll give it a go. The ad is unoriginal, it’s boring, and most importantly, it’s uncreative. This sounds and looks like it’s straight out of the minds of two media students doing their first term of university, where they’ve had to tackle an advertising brief for the very first time as their very first project. It’s really quite bad. Yes, I get it, bits and tits, ‘squeezing the bits’ sounds like ‘squeezing the tits’, puns galore I know. Bloody hilarious isn’t it. Someone give that copy writer a medal all ready! He’s shoe horned as many boob related jokes as he possibly could into sixty seconds of film. Don’t forget the art director too! He’s managed to get a crafty look down hundreds of rather large chested ladies tops too. I hope his Mum is proud of him.

The problem I have with this advert is that apart from it being bereft of creativity in any way, shape, or form, the advertising agency behind it, Chemistry, is actually bloody good at what they do. They are creative, they can be serious, and they can be creative. I hope in someone’s mind this whole campaign was a shot at being so subversive that they decided to put out the most unoriginal ad, knowing that it’s the most unoriginal ad, to make a light hearted joke about themselves, and poke fun at the advertising industry from within, which seems to be the M.O at the moment. Unfortunately, while I hope that’s the case, the whole approach falls flat. The advert ends up looking and sounding like a teenager’s wet dream, and it just isn’t over the top enough to be taken seriously in the ‘oh look aren’t we brilliant, we knowingly put out a bad ad to poke fun at all the creatives making bad ads’ department. It just ends up looking like a bad ad.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m sure this advert will do wonders for the product, and be hugely successful in the obvious ‘young male’ target audience, but that doesn’t make it okay. Using such blatant unoriginality to sell a product that could have something new and original done for it is a damn shame, because as stated earlier, Chemistry is a bloody good agency. Take a look at their self promotion that aired during an entire advert break of Mad Men. It’s brilliantly scripted, brilliantly sourced, and brilliantly made. If only they’d listened to their own bloody work.

Come on guys and gals, you can do better than poor jokes about squeezing ‘oranges’. Please try harder next time. If not for you, then for the sake of all of us.

Read more over at Whatever’s In There, Falls Out Here.

Posted in: Ciaran Watkins