Mark Fraser: Day One Hundred and Sixty Nine

Posted on June 27, 2011 by

0



The compulsion to write something, anything continues to grow almost seven months into this project but sometimes there just aren’t enough hours in the day.

Not that my days are jam packed with things, you see – there’s always time to do a quick blog post like this – but occasionally the desire to write is met with nothing of worth to say.

That’s not to say I no longer enjoy this, I do. It’s become a daily ritual, in a way, and as the year moves by ever so slowly I’m kind of beginning to think I should also talk about current events and not just poetry and music.

Or perhaps not. Maybe this it’s good that my blog doesn’t do that.

I toy with getting a dedicated URL for this thing and perhaps a new layout. A site of my very own, if you will. But alas it seems pointless when hits have dipped to around 8 people a day. If only there was a way to get more people to read…

Anyway, to wit – is it good to write something even if you have nothing to say? Surely any writing is good practice? I’m unsure.

Still working on competition entries. It closes on Thursday. I dunno if I’ll make it, last year’s winner was, to put it bluntly, spectacular. Really, what’s a no name, amateur poet with nary a pamphlet, never mind a collection to my name, doing entering a competition judged by the poet laureate?!

There is no end in site (sic) for this project and to be honest, I kind of like it that way.

Posted in: Mark Fraser