Like John Hughes with a subscription to Cahiers du Cinéma

Posted on July 7, 2011 by

0



Today I saw the trailer for The Myth of the American Sleepover.

the myth of the great american sleepover david robert mitchell sxsw festival film

It looks like a near-perfect match for my list of what makes a perfect piece of cinema. I can’t wait to watch it and the fact that in the trailer it’s described as ‘Like John Hughes with a subscription to Cahiers du Cinéma’ already makes me love it. Take a look for yourself, what do you think?

I watched it in the office today and I honestly felt like I’d been punched in the stomach, it looks so true to life, so evocative. I’ve refrained from reading anything else about it as I just want to watch it without any further influence. I don’t know if it’ll go on release in UK cinemas, but I’ll try and find it and I shall report back…

Tagged:
Posted in: Gemma Critchley