Oh I do like to be beside the seaside…

Posted on August 22, 2011 by

0



I want to plan a road trip to visit loads of awesome seaside places around the UK. I spent many a happy summer in Skeggy and Cleggy as a kid and I think it’s time to rediscover the Great British Seaside.

skegness is so bracing postcard vintage Uk seaside postcard

I asked on Twitter where to go and received lots of awesome-sounding suggestions, here they are:

Whitby – @LaurenPotts, @middleplanet
Staithes – @LadyRach
Blackpool – @CharMar
Seahouses, Bamburgh, Craster, Alnmouth, Alnwick, Farne – @EllenSCole
Robin Hood’s Bay – @NatalieHarris
Weymouth, Bournemouth, Ayr – @LouiseReviews
Cornwall (not Newquay) – @ThomHoops
Aberdovey Wales, New Quay Wales, Fowes Cornwall – @DigitalOutside
Southend, North Cornwall – @MikeTreat
Scarborough – @PhilKirby
Northumberland Coast – @katherineross
Anywhere but Rhyl – @shuttershimmer
St Andrews – @Lotpop

Thanks to everyone for their suggestions! If you have any more suggestions, feel free to leave them in the comments section.

I’m really liking the idea of Scottish/Northumberland seaside as I’ve never been up there, also never been to Brighton or Cornwall so looking into that too. Probably won’t be until next summer that I get around to it, but I’ve always said that there’s so much of this country that’s absolutely beautiful but that I never visit, so I’m looking forward to exploring it a bit more.

Posted in: Gemma Critchley