Gemma Critchley: #NaNoWriMo 2011

Posted on November 2, 2011 by

0



Okay, so those of you who know me well will know that every year since 2003 I have participated in National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo as it is affectionately known. This is where you challenge yourself to write an entire novel of 50,000 words in a month.

Nanowrimo national novel writing month gemma critchley literary abandom dystopian fiction

I’ve got close before, I even did around 30,000 words one year, but have never yet managed to complete (or ‘win’, as it’s known) NaNoWriMo.

This year I’m giving it another bash, just because I love what it stands for: 30 days and nights of complete literary abandon, where it doesn’t matter what you write or who reads it or how good it is. You end up throwing self-editing caution to the proverbial wind and just writing for writing’s sake. I love it.

This year I’m going for dystopian future meets Mills & Boon. It’s called ‘Speculate on a star’. The synopsis is:

“Romeo meets Juilet meets 1984. Think Dystopian science fiction meets Mills & Boon, with consequences that are not always as ridiculous as you might think.

The year is 2111. Vona works for ADCORP, processing advertising for the government which has since taken over from law enforcement. Police are no longer required as people simply do what adverts tell them to.

Otro is one of the last people left who practice ‘Ignorance’, an ancient skill left over from the turn of the new millennium, when people could simply choose to ignore what they do not want to see. This rare skill is highly sought by the world’s leaders as it is the one way they are able to make clear decisions without being swayed by the advertising of other countries.

Otro is on a mission to find other Ignorants who can join him in his quest. He stumbles across Vona who has the gift of Ignorance and the power to change advertising, and thought, forever.

But will she?”

I’ll probably use my One a Day blog to write some of it too, so don’t say I didn’t warn you. Are you doing NaNoWriMo this year? Have you tried it before? Leave a comment and tell me all about it!

Posted in: Gemma Critchley