Mark Fraser: Day Three Hundred and Fifty One + Day Three Hundred and Fifty Two – Advice

Posted on December 18, 2011 by

2



I’ve been trying to write something substantial for a few days now but sadly nothing of any merit has came out.

For a time I used to lambaste myself for failing to write, a practice which was (or perhaps still is) tied to some kind of overarching existential drive for me to leave my mark on the world.

Being more relaxed about writing has its pros of course but it remains to be seen if I’m producing anything which has as much energy as some of my earlier stuff.

That sounds horribly self indulgent, so to clarify I don’t actually think I’ve produced a great deal of good writing in my life thus far but it all counts. Every sentence counts for something.

With that in mind, advice is always good. Feedback on your own work is invaluable naturally (budding writers out there: I cannot stress just how useful how taking your writing to a workshop is. Even if you only do it once) but there are other kinds of advice out there.

Earlier on today a friend of mine posted this. I found it hard to disagree with any of it. It’s definitely worth a read. Not that my opinion is worth much, right enough.

P.S. Again, apologies for missing a day. The only internet connection I have at the moment comes from my phone and tethering it to my laptop eats my data usage.

Similarly, here is something I’d read before which was also once given out in my creative writing class. I some of the advice is rubbish, however Elmore Leonard’s advice is good (even if I don’t agree with some of it).

In the end there are no hard and fast rules when it comes to writing. You’re forever learning new things. But advice is useful. Even if you’re like me and hardly in a position to dish it out, it’s always good to have some anyway.

Posted in: Mark Fraser